The Birth of Our Warrior Princess

Birth, Sophie Christine Wead, Preemie, 34 weeks6:27 am. Ouch! Could it be?? No… better Google it.

After asking the expert on all things I came to the conclusion that I was pretty sure I was having Braxton Hicks contractions. Reading that they should go away, I decided to let Joshua sleep and try taking a bath, elevating my feet, and sleeping more before waking him up or calling the doctor. Six hours later they still continued and were now 2-3 minutes apart. We headed off to Mercy Medical Center in Roseburg, Oregon, 30 minutes away. When we got closer we realized that we had no idea where in the hospital we were supposed to go. I wasn’t due for 6 more weeks and because of Joshua’s job we had put off doing several things until the school year ended such as the hospital tour…

We found our way and after evaluating me they decided to give me medicine to try and stop the Braxton Hicks since they can trigger real contractions. The pills didn’t work so they gave me a shot. It slowed the contractions, but now I felt them in my back and not just the front. However, they sent us home and said they probably will stop with more rest but if not come back. We went home. My sweet husband made me dinner as I took a bath. I rested. However, the contractions continued and became closer together. So, back to the hospital we went.

I was now 2 cm dilated and they aren’t equipped for babies under 36 weeks at the hospital. If I gave birth there they would have to send my baby up to Eugene, an hour away, while I recovered in Roseburg. However, after more medicine and shots they were able to slow the contractions. So, off to Eugene we went! I was transported in an ambulance with a nurse (just in case I gave birth on the way), while Joshua went ahead in our car.

When I imagined my labor day I had the typical scenario in my head with the husband frantically looking for the keys as the wife waddles out to the car yelling back at him that they are on the counter and to make sure he gets the hospital bag by the door. Even in this scenario I thought I would be so scared. Yet, here we were. It was too early. The hospital bag and nursery weren’t ready. Our families were not here. Nothing even close and yet we felt so at peace (Philippians 4:7).


 

June 6th, 2015

We made it through the night! Another night in my belly meant another night our baby girl was able to develop and grow. They gave me a pill that was supposed to stop the contractions. However, the contractions continued throughout the night. The pill lasts 12 hours… We had several emotions as we counted down the hours. We were excited to finally meet our little girl, sad it wasn’t at the optimal time in her development, but thankful it wasn’t any sooner. We missed our families, who all live on the other side of the country, but we felt God’s presence and peace and knew that we had several people from our work who cared about us.

The doctor came in and confirmed that we were going to meet our baby today. I was 4 cm dilated and they were going to break my water. They asked if I wanted any pain medication, but I told them I wanted to see how it went first. The doctor said she would come back in 20 minutes to check on me. I heard that baths were great during labor so I asked the nurse if we could try it. However, things progressed quickly and I was soon not wanting to move at all. I really wanted to try to not get an epidural, but man do contractions hurt and get close together! I called for the anesthesiologist, who I thought I would quickly come to love. Wrong! He took forever to get there and at the height of labor he wanted to have a conversation and play 20 questions. He explained about the epidural and asked me things like “What is your height?” While he was still questioning me, we called in the nurse because I felt like it was time to push. She said I was 7 cm dilated and kicked the anesthesiologist out saying this baby is coming now! She called for the doctor and kept telling me not to push because she didn’t want to deliver a baby. I thought maybe I wasn’t supposed to push because I wasn’t 10 cm yet so when the doctor got there I was still trying not to push. After 2 contractions the doctor said to push and with great relief I asked, “I can really push now?” And in just a few contractions and pushes our sweet warrior princess, Sophie Christine Wead, was born at 3 lbs 14 oz & 16.5 in.

Joshua & Jessica Wead's Daughter, Sophie Christine Wead's BirthThe birth of Joshua & Jessica Wead's Daugther, Sophie Christine Wead

 

 

 

Leave a comment